Tourisme Témiscouata, Notre-Dame-du-Lac, QC

Tourisme Témiscouata
5, Rue De L'hôtel-De-Ville
G0L 1X0 Notre-Dame-Du-Lac
Quebec

Description

More than 60 prehistoric archaeological sites bear witness to the presence in the area of Aboriginal People who came here to look for Chert, a flint like stone with exceptional properties. The oldest site at Saint-Michel-du-Squatec dates back more than 9, 000 years.

The first seigneury, following the French model, was that of the Seigneury of Madawaska, established in 1683. It was granted to the merchant Charles-Aubert de la Chesnaye who was a fur trader in the region in the 17th century. The fourth holder of the seigneury was James Murray, the Governor General of Canada, in 1763. He was succeeded in turn by Henry Caldwell, Alexander Fraser and Joseph Bouchette, Surveyor General of Canada.


Keywords:
Tourist Attractions
Tourisme Témiscouata is listed in the following categories:
Add images

Reviews

Be the first to write a review for Tourisme Témiscouata!

Share your experience!

Buy a Premium Entry
CYLEX Quote Requests
Facebook

Nearby similar companies

  1. 59 CH BELLEVUE
    G0L 3S0  Saint-Louis-du-Ha-Ha, QC
  2. 59, CHEMIN BELLEVUE RR 1
    G0L 3S0  Saint-Louis-du-Ha-Ha, QC
  3. 400, Chemin De La Vieille-Route
    G0L 4H0  Squatec, QC
  4. Map view of similar nearby companies